Tabology alternatives for UK restaurants
Tabology is an EPOS (till) system first, and its table bookings come inside its £59-a-month Pro plan rather than as a product of their own. Venues usually look elsewhere when they want a booking system that works with whichever till they already have, or more from the booking side than an all-in-one gives them. Here is what else is available.
Who publishes this: NomNom, one of the systems listed below. We have put ourselves in the same grid as everyone else rather than at the flattering end of a rigged table, and where a competitor does something better than us we have left that in.
The alternatives at a glance
| System | Headline price | Per-cover commission | Contract | Diner marketplace |
| NomNom | £29.99 + VAT a month per venue | No | None — rolling monthly | No |
| OpenTable | Quote only in the UK | Yes — a fee on every cover booked through its network | 12 months, auto-renewing (estimated) | Yes — one of the largest |
| ResDiary | £109–£295 + VAT a month by booking volume, plus a £99 set-up fee | No on bookings — but 1.2% on deposits and payments, and 3% on gift vouchers | Set in your order; the standard terms default to 36 months, with 90 days' notice | Yes — Dish Cult, plus DesignMyNight |
| SevenRooms | Quote only | No | Annual | No |
| TheFork | Quote only | Yes — on marketplace covers only | Not stated | Yes — one of the largest in Europe |
| Sugarvine | £75 + VAT a month (or £799 + VAT a year) | No | 12 months | Yes — the Sugarvine dining guide |
| resOS | Free up to 25 bookings a month, then roughly £38–£105 a month | No | Rolling monthly | No |
| Favouritetable | £69–£199 + VAT a month, or free up to 30 bookings a month, or £2 a cover on its Flex plan | No on its monthly plans — £2 a cover on the pay-as-you-go Flex plan | Not stated (annual billing is discounted) | Yes — its own restaurant search |
| Access Collins | From £135–£149 a month per site; full price list behind a form | No — 0% commission on bookings | Not stated | Yes — DesignMyNight |
| Dojo Bookings | Quote only | Not stated | Not stated | Yes — the Dojo diner app, plus Google |
What you would be leaving
An EPOS (till) system first, with table booking and deposits built in from its £59-a-month Pro plan; the £39 Essentials plan does not include bookings, and extra tills are £39 a month each. It suits a venue that wants Tabology as its till as well, rather than a booking system on its own.
The options in detail
NomNom
One plan and one published price per venue: commission-free booking on your own branded page, Stripe deposits and card holds, SMS reminders on pay-as-you-go credits, an allergy-aware guest database, gift vouchers and unlimited devices. No contract, no setup fee, 14-day free trial. The honest gap is discovery: there is no diner marketplace.
OpenTable
The big marketplace name, with genuine discovery reach. The model is a subscription plus a fee for every cover that arrives through OpenTable itself; bookings you take on your own site are not charged per cover. The UK site shows "Contact us for pricing" on both its Core and Pro plans, so there is no published pound figure.
ResDiary
Established, operations-led and group-friendly, built around table management, yield rules and floor flow. Genuinely commission-free on bookings and it publishes its UK prices, but they step up with booking volume (a venue over its limit is moved up a plan automatically), payments carry a surcharge, and several capabilities other systems bundle (SMS, pre-orders, events, vouchers) are paid add-ons.
SevenRooms
Closer to a guest CRM than a booking widget: automated tagging, rich guest profiles, targeted marketing, loyalty and feedback loops. No marketplace and no per-cover fee, but it is enterprise-priced, quote-only and on an annual contract, and it is aimed at upscale groups and multi-site operators rather than a single independent site.
TheFork
Europe's big diner marketplace, now being acquired by American Express. The subscription is quote-only and marketplace covers carry a commission; bookings through your own website or widget are commission-free.
Sugarvine
A UK flat-fee system that bundles a listing on the Sugarvine consumer dining guide. Commission-free on a 12-month contract; it notes a 1.5% handling fee on Stripe deposits.
resOS
Transparent and self-serve, with a real free tier and every feature included on each paid tier except SMS. Priced in euros and dollars, so the pound figure moves with exchange rates.
Favouritetable
A long-standing UK system with published prices on four monthly plans from £69 to £199 + VAT, a free plan for up to 30 bookings a month (on condition it is your only booking system), and a pay-per-cover Flex plan. Commission-free on the monthly plans; SMS is limited to the top plan and charged per message.
Access Collins
The booking system behind DesignMyNight, the nightlife and dining guide, owned by The Access Group (which also owns ResDiary). Commission-free on bookings, with a listing on a guide that claims around 3.9 million monthly visitors. Its own pages quote from £135 and from £149 a month per site; the full price list, contract terms and add-on costs sit behind an enquiry form.
Dojo Bookings
The bookings product from Dojo, the card-payments company. Bookings come from your own website, Google and the Dojo diner app, which Dojo says has over 850,000 users, and there is a 30-day free trial. Dojo does not publish the price on its own site; reseller and guide sites report around £149 + VAT a month, which is a reported figure rather than a list price.
So which should you pick?
If Tabology is already your till and its bookings cover what you need, having your till and your bookings in one system is a real advantage. If you want to choose your EPOS and your booking system separately, every option here works on its own, and several publish a monthly price you can compare directly.
Try NomNom free for 14 days
No card, no setup fee and no sales call — and your existing bookings and guest history can be imported so you are not starting from an empty diary. See how it works.
Common questions
Can I use Tabology's bookings without its EPOS?
Its pricing page lists bookings only as part of its EPOS plans, from the £59-a-month Pro plan; the £39 Essentials plan does not include them. If you want a booking system on its own, every other system on this page sells one.
How much does Tabology cost?
Tabology publishes its EPOS prices: Essentials £39, Pro £59 and Partner £99 a month, with extra tills at £39 a month each. Table bookings and deposits come with the Pro plan and above.
Keep reading
- All booking system comparisons
- Restaurant booking system pricing compared (seven systems)
- Switching booking system without the stress
Prices and features were accurate to the best of our knowledge on 1 October 2026, summarised from each vendor's own published information and from third-party trackers. Where a vendor does not publish pricing we say so rather than quoting an estimate as though it were a list price. Booking system pricing changes often — always confirm the current figure with the vendor before you sign anything.